t-hack.com

English - X300T / X301T / DIT9719 / KISS KMM / BT Vision / Bluewin TV-Box / V-BOX/ VIP 1216 or similar Hardware => Software => Topic started by: asgard on 09. Sep 2008, 17:35

Title: Compiling BooterCE...
Post by: asgard on 09. Sep 2008, 17:35
Hey guys,

maybe someone can help me.

I want to compile the BooterCE from the svn.
I've a VisualStudio 2008 already installed. What other software is required?

The process of compiling seems to work, cause i got an binary. But i don't know if i compiled it
in the right way...

Maybe someone can help me in what i've do to exactly...and how can i use the remote debugging?

Oh and perhaps someone can update the booterCE in the wiki (http://www.t-hack.com/wiki/index.php/BooterCEreplacement) with the newest compiled version?

Thanks

Asgard
Title: Re: Compiling BooterCE...
Post by: is0-mick on 09. Sep 2008, 18:30
Just selet the project as a windows CE5.0 device, if it is not selected already, and then build.
You can select debug or release.

Thats pretty much it.

To get the remote debugging working you need have a folder on your box called \hard disk\win
with the files for remote debugging in there, I will upload them soon so they are easier to find.

In visual studio, click device options, then select wince 5.0 device.

Click properties.
on the TCP transport connect, select configure.

Click specify an IP address, and put the boxes IP in there.

Hopefully once the box has booted up BooterCE, and loaded the files you should be able to connect.

You can use attach to process, to debug tv2client if you have assembled it with the /PDB switch. Then you can load the symbol pdb file and set breakpoints, view variables etc.


files are here:
http://www.t-hack.com/wiki/index.php/Debug_Files_for_remote_debugging


Mick
Title: Re: Compiling BooterCE...
Post by: Hoernchen on 09. Sep 2008, 19:04
Always remember : The debug files are version dependent ! VS05 debug files will not work with VS05 SP1, and VS08 files do not work with VS05, ...
Learned that the hard way after installing VS08 on a box with VS05 (=no connection), and then after copying vs05 sp1 files and trying to connect with VS05 without SP1 (=again, no connection)...
After about two months of cursing and swearing i finally found this (http://blogs.msdn.com/vsdteam/archive/2007/01/18/connectivity-issues-after-installing-sp1.aspx) blog entry which explains it.
My advice : Stick to vs05 sp1, because you might want to be able to compile native ce 5.0 apps for the box.....
Title: Re: Compiling BooterCE...
Post by: Herman on 09. Sep 2008, 19:10
arghh wish youd told me that a week or 2 ago, ended up reinstalling vs05 + sp2 till i got it working